Rice Engineering to honor alumni with awards celebration

Rice CS winners include Bryan Guido Hassin and Wendy-Kay Logan

Rice Engineering to honor alumni with awards celebration

The George R. Brown School of Engineering and the Rice Engineering Alumni (REA) board have announced the 2022 class of recipients of engineering alumni awards including two alumni from the Department of Computer Science. Bryan Guido Hassin ('01, MCS '02) has won the Outstanding Engineering Alumni Award, and Wendy-Kay Logan ('04) has won the Outstanding Young Engineering Alumni Award.

The recipients of the 12 awards will be recognized at the 2022 George R. Brown School of Engineering Alumni Awards Celebration in October. The invitation-only event will be hosted by Talithia Williams, who earned an M.S. and Ph.D. in statistics from Rice in 2007 and 2008, respectively. She is a statistician and professor at Harvey Mudd College, and co-host of the PBS NOVA series “NOVA Wonders.”

Outstanding Engineering Alumni Award: Bryan Guido Hassin

Bryan Hassin earned a B.S. in computer science and in electrical and computer engineering from Rice in 2001. He earned his master’s degree in computer science from Rice in 2002, and an M.B.A. from the International Institute for Management Development in Lausanne, Switzerland in 2008. He is the co-founder and CEO of Third Derivative, a Denver-based company that brings together investors and climate tech startups.

Outstanding Young Engineering Alumni Award: Wendy-Kay Logan

Wendy-Kay Logan earned her B.A. in computer science from Rice in 2004, and went on to get an M.S. in computer science and electrical engineering and an MBA from MIT. She has worked for Google since 2016 and is an executive director of product management.

History of the Alumni Awards

The Distinguished Engineering Alumni Award is the highest honor given by the George R. Brown School of Engineering and Rice Engineering Alumni. Recipients are selected based on a lifetime of professional achievements, leadership and contributions made to the profession and society.

The Outstanding Engineering Alumni Award was first presented by the REA in 1974, with George R. Brown, Class of 1920, being the initial recipient. It recognizes Rice engineering alumni for outstanding professional achievement and service to society.

The Outstanding Young Engineering Alumni Award was first given in 1996 by the REA. Its first recipient was William H. White ’86. This award recognizes the achievements of Rice engineering alumni younger than 40. 

See the complete list of 2022 Alumni Award recipients from the School of Engineering. 


Patrick Kurp, Engineering Marketing